Tata Institute of Fundamental Research
(Deemed to be University)

Graduate School Admissions (GS-2022)

Subjects - Programmes


Ph.D. and Integrated M.Sc.-Ph.D. Programmes


Ph.D. and Integrated M.Sc.-Ph.D. Programmes

  • Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics

  • Department of Condensed Matter Physics & Materials Science

  • Department of High Energy Physics

  • Department of Nuclear & Atomic Physics

  • Department of Theoretical Physics
    All above at TIFR, Mumbai Campus -

  • National Centre for Radio Astrophysics (NCRA), Pune - http://www.ncra.tifr.res.in

  • TIFR Centre for Interdisciplinary Sciences, Hyderabad (TIFR-H) - (http://www.tifrh.res.in) : Theoretical and experimental activities in physical, chemical, biological and engineering sciences within and across disciplines.

  • International Centre for Theoretical Sciences (http://www.icts.res.in).

Students applying for Physics also have the option to be considered for the Graduate Training Programme (GTP) of the India-based Neutrino Observatory (INO). This option can be indicated at the time of registration of application.  
For more details on INO please see: http://www.ino.tifr.res.in


Ph.D. and Integrated M.Sc.-Ph.D. Programs


Ph.D., Integrated M.Sc.-Ph.D. and M.Sc. Programmes

  • Department of Biological Sciences, TIFR, Mumbai - http://www.tifr.res.in/~dbs - Ph.D.,  Integrated M.Sc.-Ph.D. and M.Sc. (Biology) programmes.

  • National Centre for Biological Sciences (NCBS), Bengaluru  (http://www.ncbs.res.in) - Ph.D.,  Integrated M.Sc.-Ph.D. and M.Sc. (Wildlife Biology & Conservation) programmes.

  • TIFR Centre for Interdisciplinary Sciences (TIFR-H), Hyderabad (http://www.tifrh.res.in) - Ph.D. and Integrated M.Sc.-Ph.D. programs only.

FAQ for Ph.D. and Integrated Ph.D. Programs in Biology


Computer & Systems Sciences
(including Communications Machine Learning)
Ph.D. and Integrated M.Sc.-Ph.D. Programs


Science Education
Ph.D. Programme


Typical Course Duration:

  • Ph.D. Programme: 5 Years

  • Integrated M.Sc.-Ph.D. Programme: 6 Years

  • M.Sc.Programme:  See details in respective programme.